Select Page

Lin, Akay earn major engineering honors

December 28, 2009

Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering faculty members Jerry Y.S. Lin and Metin Akay have been selected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the prominent journal Science. Each year, the association recognizes a number of scientists and engineers for significant contributions to their fields and to society.

Lin, a professor in the School of Mechanical, Aerospace, Chemical and Materials Engineering, was chosen for Fellow status for his achievements in inorganic membrane science and technology for chemical separation and membrane reactor applications.

Earlier this year, his leadership in the field also earned Lin a prestigious Award for Excellence from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

His work is spurring advancements in chemical engineering technologies used in numerous industrial processes, including processes to produce hydrogen as an alternative fuel for cars, to prevent pollution from industrial systems and to purify water supplies.

Akay, a professor in the School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering, was named an AAAS Fellow for his contributions to biomedical engineering research and education. In particular, his work in neural engineering and informatics was recognized by the organization.

Akay’s accomplishments also recently earned him election to the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering – one of the highest recognitions in the biological and biomedical sciences.

His research spans a wide range of interests in biomedical informatics and biomedical engineering, including the areas of neural, cardiovascular and rehabilitation engineering, and biomedical informatics.

Contributions to electrical and information technologies – specifically biomedical signal modeling and process –earned him Fellow status in the Institute for Electrical and Electronic Engineers in 2009. He also was honored by the government of Colombia for promoting biomedical engineering research and education in Latin America.

In 2010, Akay will take on the leadership of the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering. He will be the founding chair of the department and John S. Dunn Distinguished Professor.

Akay will continue a working relationship with Arizona State University through his research and as an engineering graduate program faculty member. He will continue as a supervisor to a group of ASU doctoral and master’s degree students.

Lin was nominated for AAAS Fellow by colleague Yushan Yan, professor and chair of the Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering at the University of California, Riverside.

Yan noted Lin’s international reputation in the field, for both his research contributions and his efforts to advance education in the field and share knowledge with colleagues.

“I feel privileged to have had the opportunity to nominate Jerry,” Yan said. “His selection as an AAAS fellow is a fitting recognition of his tireless commitment and the status he has earned in chemical engineering.”

New AAAS Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold (for science) and blue (for engineering) rosette pin at the AAAS Fellows Forum on Feb. 20, during the organization’s 2010 annual meeting in San Diego.

About The Author

Fulton Schools

For media inquiries, contact Lanelle Strawder, Assistant Director of Marketing and Communications: 480-727-5618, [email protected] | Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering | Strategic Marketing & Communications

ASU Engineering on Facebook