Select Page

Kozicki named National Academy of Inventors fellow

Arizona State University electrical engineering professor Michael Kozicki has been named a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).

Election to the academy’s fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.

Michael Kozicki

Michael Kozicki

The academic inventors and innovators elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are named inventors on U.S. patents, and were nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society, and support and enhancement of innovation.

Kozicki is a professor of electrical engineering, a member of the honors faculty, and director of the Center for Applied Nanoionics. He joined ASU in 1985 from Hughes Microelectronics and has maintained strong industrial ties since.

Although he is best known as the inventor of Conductive Bridging Random Access Memory (CBRAM®), an ultra-low energy data storage technology being commercialized by several companies, his more than 80 U.S. and international patents also include inventions ranging from a cleanroom wheelchair to bio-inspired optical devices. Kozicki’s patents have been cited more than a thousand times and are ranked in the top tier by independent intellectual property organizations.

Kozicki also is a founder of Axon Technologies Corp. and Idendrix, Inc., served as chief scientist of Adesto Technologies during the early development of CBRAM®, and has been a visiting professor at the University of Edinburgh in the United Kingdom for the past decade.  He is also a Chartered Engineer, the UK/EU equivalent of the professional engineer (PE) designation in the United States.

Kozicki has served as interim and founding director of entrepreneurial programs and director of the Center for Solid State Electronics Research in the Fulton Schools. He has published extensively, developed entrepreneurship-infused undergraduate and graduate courses in solid state electronics, is a frequent invited speaker at international meetings, and has made several television appearances to promote public understanding of science. 

Also named an NAI fellow is Stuart Lindsay, an ASU professor and the director of the Center for Single Molecule Biophysics at ASU’s Biodesign Institute.

“Doctors Kozicki and Lindsay exemplify the innovative and entrepreneurial spirit of faculty and researchers at ASU. They have made outstanding contributions to their fields, economic development and society,” said Sethuraman “Panch” Panchanathan, senior vice president for Knowledge Enterprise Development at ASU. “It is a great honor to have the NAI recognize their innovative and use-inspired work.”

Those named this week bring the total number of NAI Fellows to 414, representing more than 150 prestigious research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions.

The fellows will be inducted on March 20, 2015, as part of the 4th Annual Conference of the National Academy of Inventors at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. Andrew Faile, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office deputy commissioner for patent operations, will be providing the keynote address for the induction ceremony. Fellows will be presented with a special trophy, newly designed medal and rosette pin in honor of their outstanding accomplishments.

The fellows will be recognized with a full-page announcement in The Chronicle of Higher Education’s Jan. 16, 2015 issue, and in upcoming issues of Inventors Digest and Technology and Innovation.

Included among all of the NAI Fellows are 61 presidents and senior leaders of research universities and non-profit research institutes; 208 members of the other National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine); 21 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame; 16 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation; 10 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Science; 21 Nobel laureates; 11 Lemelson-MIT prize recipients; 112 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows; and 62 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Fellows, among other awards and distinctions.

The 2014 NAI Fellows Selection Committee comprises 17 members, including NAI Fellows; recipients of U.S. National Medals; National Inventors Hall of Fame inductees; members of the National Academies; and senior officials from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, Association of American Universities, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Association of University Technology Managers and National Inventors Hall of Fame.

Media Contact
Sharon Keeler, [email protected]
(480) 727-5618
Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering

About The Author

Fulton Schools

For media inquiries, contact Lanelle Strawder, Assistant Director of Marketing and Communications: 480-727-5618, [email protected] | Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering | Strategic Marketing & Communications

ASU Engineering on Facebook